Windows 10 Disable WiFi Sense

How to disable Windows 10’s WiFi Sense password sharing

WiFi Sense in Windows 10 takes the headache out of managing WiFi networks, but some people have security and privacy concerns.

Valley Computer 206.730.1111 Disable WiFi Sense

How to disable WiFi Sense in Windows 10

First, open the Start menu and head to Settings > Network & Internet > WiFi > Manage WiFi settings. In here, you basically want to disable every option you see, as well as tell Windows 10 to forget any WiFi networks you’ve signed into in the past.

Valley Computer 206.730.1111 Disable WiFi Sense

That’s easy, and all well and good. But what if you don’t want your friends sharing the information about your network’s password with their friends? That takes some additional tinkering, and it’s not obvious. There isn’t a mere option toggle in Windows 10 itself.

Instead, you need to dive into your actual router’s settings and give your network a new name with “_optout” at the end. For example, a network called “WiFiSenseUgh_optout” wouldn’t be stored by WiFi Sense, while one that’s just called “WiFiSenseUgh” would be usable with Microsoft’s sharing feature.

You will need to add “_optout” to your network if you want to stay out of Microsoft’s WiFi Sense database, you’ll need to manually enter your password on your friends’ devices when they pop by your house and make sure to uncheck Windows 10’s “Share network with my contacts” box when you do so.

Comments are closed.